The app hasn’t shipped an update since March 2019, and 16 of its last 25 reviews say it records nothing. What it did well, and what to use instead.
Do I Snore or Grind is a free SleepScore Labs app that records snoring and teeth grinding, lets you listen the next morning, and compares nights with and without a remedy. Its last iPhone update shipped in March 2019, and of its 25 most recent App Store reviews, 16 say it records nothing on current iPhones and 7 say sign-up fails. SleepyNight is the one maintained app with more than 200 ratings that claims a grinding label, on a subscription. Snore Timeline records the whole night with nothing to buy and no account, labels snoring and sleep talking, and saves grinding as Loud Sound episodes you judge by ear.
Four apps: the subject and the three with more than 200 ratings on the US App Store. I built Snore Timeline, so read its row knowing that.
| App | Labels teeth grinding | Whole-night audio | Last update | Purchases | Privacy label |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Snore Timeline | No label. Loud Sound Detection saves any sound above the room’s background as an episode you judge by ear | Yes, continuous, with full-night and per-episode export | 4 Oct 2026 [12] | None. No subscription, no in-app purchases, no account | Data Not Collected |
| Do I Snore or Grind | Yes, algorithm-filtered, with snoring [1] | Not stated. Reviews describe 30-second samples you verify; others praise hearing the whole night | 13 Mar 2019 [1] | None on iOS. The Play listing says a paid version is required after five nights [2] | Collects data: Contact Info linked to you |
| SleepyNight | Yes, with snoring and sleep talking [15] | Not stated | 2 Jul 2025 [15] | $6.99 to $29.99, including a weekly subscription | Collects data, incl. Usage Data used to track you |
| SnoreLab | No. Snoring only; other sounds show as gray noise bars [14] | Samples by default; full-night recording is Premium [14] | 5 Oct 2026 [13] | $5.99 to $59.99 | Collects data, incl. Usage Data used to track you |
Four smaller apps, Bruxa, GrindMute, SnoreLess and Sleep Island, are built around grinding or list it, with 23 ratings or fewer each [16] [17] [18] [19]; they have rows in the alternatives table below. I searched the App Store for teeth grinding, bruxism, snore and sleep recorder, and no app with a large rating count mentions grinding in its listing apart from the two in this table.
Give it its due. Sleep.ai, a Dutch company that a board-certified sleep dentist founded in 2014, built the app and a vibrating wearable and shared recordings with dentists. SleepScore Labs bought the company in 2018, when the apps had passed 250,000 downloads [5]. The praise below comes from 137 reviews on four stores (US, UK, Canada, Australia) dated November 2016 to June 2026 [1].
The App Store shows version 1.2.4, released 13 March 2019, as the current build, with “Requires iOS 10.0 or later” [1]. Google Play shows an update on 11 March 2019 [2]. The reviews track the gap.
| Year | Reviews | Average stars |
|---|---|---|
| 2019 | 22 | 3.8 |
| 2020 | 16 | 4.4 |
| 2021 | 15 | 3.3 |
| 2022 | 9 | 4.3 |
| 2023 | 18 | 2.8 |
| 2024 | 14 | 2.5 |
| 2025 | 13 | 1.4 |
| 2026 (to June) | 6 | 1.7, with no five-star review |
One five-star reviewer in November 2024 had tried seven or eight snoring apps and rated this the best for its delayed start, score, factors and remedies. Then it stopped recording after the iOS update, the reviewer said, while other apps had already patched.
| Complaint | Reviews, of 137 | Example | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Records nothing, or stopped recording | 23, of which 16 are dated November 2024 or later | US, 27 June 2026: microphone permission on, nothing records. Canada, March 2026: iPhone 16 records grinding but no snoring; an iPhone 6 recorded both | [1] |
| Blames an iOS or phone update | 9, four naming iOS 18 | Canada, December 2024: records nothing on iOS 18.2 or the 18.3 beta. US, April 2025: stopped detecting all snoring after iOS 18 | [1] |
| Sign-up or sign-in fails | 15, across email, Google and Facebook; 7 from 2025 and 2026 | US, October 2025: the Google sign-in “couldn’t be authenticated”. UK, January 2026: support wouldn’t accept Hotmail or iCloud addresses | [1] |
| Objects to needing an account at all | 3 | One each in 2018, 2019 and 2023 | [1] |
| Says the app is abandoned | 7 | US, March 2025: “last update five years ago” | [1] |
| False positives | 11, from 2018 to 2023 | Fans, heaters and air conditioning logged as snoring or grinding. US, June 2020: a child talking counted as snoring, a morning video as grinding | [1] |
| Missed snoring or grinding it should have caught | 7 | US, April 2025: missed YouTube snoring played next to the phone. Australia, August 2021: logged heavy breathing and no grinding | [1] |
| Snoring filed as grinding, no way to correct it | 4 | Australia, March 2023: both statistics come out wrong | [1] |
| No export or backup | 5 | Sharing goes to a dentist and nowhere else. US, April 2019: no backup or download of recordings | [1] |
| Blocks Bluetooth audio | 4, from 2019 to 2022 | Rules out an audiobook or meditation while it runs | [1] |
| Verification chore | 3, plus Google Play | Google Play, March 2021: deleting one sample forced re-verifying more than 200 one by one, or the score showed zero | [1] [2] |
About 8 percent of young to middle-aged adults grind their teeth in sleep, and 14 to 17 percent of children [6]. A 2026 review puts the adult figure anywhere from 1 to 15 percent, depending on the method [9]. Most episodes last up to a second, skip some nights, and cluster in stages one and two of non-REM sleep [6] [7].
The 2018 international consensus defines sleep bruxism as masticatory (chewing) muscle activity, rhythmic or not, and says that in otherwise healthy people it’s a behavior and not a disorder, though it can be a sign of one in people with sleep apnea or REM behavior disorder [8]. Muscle is the operative word. A jaw can clench in silence, and that form does much of the damage.
| Method | Catches grinding? | Catches clenching? | Diagnoses? | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Phone microphone (every app on this page) | The scrape, yes, in a quiet room | No. Clenching makes no sound | No. Bruxa’s listing says a phone across a bedroom can’t do it “reliably enough to put a number on” | [9] [16] |
| Bed partner or family member | Yes, when awake to hear it. The AASM says you may not know you grind unless someone does | No | No, though the dentist may ask what your partner has noticed | [6] [10] |
| Dentist’s history and exam | From the evidence: worn teeth, and pain or tenderness in the jaw and face | Same evidence | Yes. Cleveland Clinic says the exam and your symptoms settle most cases | [10] [11] |
| Home sleep test without audio or video (ambulatory PSG) | No. It can’t hear grinding or see jaw movement | Muscle activity, yes, but it can’t separate clenching from grinding | Less definitive than a lab study, per the Sleep Foundation | [7] [9] |
| Sleep lab with jaw-muscle EMG plus synchronized audio and video | Yes | Yes, from the muscle signal | Yes. The 2026 review names it the most accurate method; the AASM calls it a rare need for grinding alone | [6] [9] |
Cleveland Clinic adds that the link between sleep apnea and grinding is real and its direction unclear [11]. Treat every grinding count on this page, including the Loud Sound episodes in my own app, as a cue to listen and then to book the dentist.
One row per app, then a paragraph on each of the three with more than 200 ratings.
| App | Grinding | Night audio | Remedy comparison | Cost and label | US ratings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Snore Timeline | No label. Loud Sound episodes for any sound above the room’s background, grinding included; you judge by ear | Whole night, continuous. Exports full-night audio, every clip and CSV to the Files app; records through AirPods or a Bluetooth mic | Yes. Mouth Guard, Oral Appliance, CPAP, Alcohol, Caffeine and 18 more, ranked after two tagged and two untagged nights. Grinding you compare yourself | Nothing to buy, no account, no server, no analytics. Data Not Collected. Updated 4 Oct 2026 [12]; also on Android | 4.9 (230) |
| SleepyNight | Yes, with snoring and sleep talking [15] | Not stated on the listing | Not in the listing, which names sleep stages, decibel trends and a sleep score | $6.99 to $29.99, including a weekly subscription. Declares Usage Data used to track you. Updated 2 Jul 2025 | 4.7 (208) |
| SnoreLab | No. Snoring only; other sounds show as gray noise bars [14] | Samples by default. Full-night recording, unlimited playback and export are Premium [14] | Yes, remedies tracking and a Snore Score | $5.99 to $59.99. Declares Usage Data used to track you. Updated 5 Oct 2026 [13] | 4.7 (57,000) |
| Bruxa | Ranks the night’s moments and you mark each as grinding or not. Says it won’t count grinding [16] | Whole night, on the device; the free tier keeps seven nights | Not in the listing | $14.99 one-time PRO. Data Not Collected | 2 ratings |
| GrindMute | Yes. Saves a clip on a grinding-like pattern and can play a gentle sound to interrupt it; you mark the clips [17] | Short clips | Not in the listing | From $6.99 a month. Collects data | None yet |
| SnoreLess | Yes, with snoring, sleep talking and coughs [18] | Short highlights | Not in the listing | None. No account, no ads. Data Not Collected | 1 rating |
| Sleep Island | Lists possible grinding among its clips [19] | Clips | Not in the listing | Subscription from $2.99 a month. Collects data | 4.9 (23) |
Mine, and it has no grinding label. The classifier names snoring, gasps, coughs, sleep talking and laughter and flags breathing disruptions; grinding comes in through Loud Sound Detection, a switch that’s off until you turn it on. On iPhone the Automatic threshold sits just above the measured room level and re-measures every minute, so a quiet bedroom catches the short, dry scrape of a grind, and tapping an episode starts playback about two seconds early. The factor ranking scores snoring and breathing, so for grinding you compare the Loud Sound episodes on tagged and untagged nights yourself. It also estimates sleep stages from your breathing sounds and scores each night from 0 to 100; the teeth grinding guide walks through a night of it.
The one maintained app over 200 ratings that claims a grinding label, at 4.7 from 208 [15]. Its listing names audio detection of snoring, sleep talking and teeth grinding and doesn’t say whether it keeps clips or the whole night. If a grinding label from a current app matters more to you than price, it’s the one to try.
57,000 ratings at 4.7, the largest user base here. Its Snore Score and remedies tracking map onto what Do I Snore or Grind users liked, and Snore Timeline’s sleep score and sleep factors do the same job. Its FAQ says it captures samples, limits free playback per night and keeps full-night recording and export for Premium, and nothing in its listing claims grinding [14].
Bruxa, GrindMute and SnoreLess had fewer than five ratings each when I checked, and Sleep Island 23. That isn’t a verdict on them; it means nobody has tested them for you yet. GrindMute’s interrupting sound is the closest thing here to the old Anti-Snore Wearable feedback [17].
Snore Timeline analyzes audio on your phone. It is not a medical device and does not diagnose bruxism, sleep apnea or any other condition. A Loud Sound episode is a sound to listen to, not a grinding count. Dentists diagnose bruxism from your history and an exam, and a sleep lab is the only place grinding is measured with muscle sensors and video. Worn teeth, jaw pain or morning headaches are reasons to book the appointment whatever an app recorded.
It’s still listed on the App Store and Google Play, and its last update on both was March 2019. Of its 25 most recent App Store reviews, 16 say it records nothing and 7 say they can’t get past sign-up, with several naming iOS 18 or an iPhone 16. Two are positive, so it may still run on an older phone with an existing account.
On the App Store it’s free with no in-app purchases listed, and it needs an account. The Google Play description says you’ll be asked to use a paid version after five nights of recording, though no purchase shows on either store.
Do I Snore or Grind and SleepyNight claim a grinding label and have more than 200 ratings; Bruxa, GrindMute, SnoreLess and Sleep Island are built around or list grinding and have fewer than 25 ratings each. Snore Timeline has no grinding label. Its Loud Sound Detection saves any sound above the room’s background noise, grinding included, for you to confirm by ear.
No. A microphone catches the sound of grinding and misses clenching, which is silent, and a 2026 review says that without audio and video recording no one can tell the two apart. Dentists diagnose bruxism from your history and an exam, the lab standard is jaw-muscle EMG with synchronized audio and video, and the AASM calls a sleep study a rare need for grinding alone.
It doesn’t label it. Turn on Loud Sound Detection in Detection Settings and the app saves any sound above your room’s background noise as a Loud Sound episode; grinds show as short episodes, often around a second and sometimes in clusters, and playback starts two seconds early. Record on Standard or High Fidelity for the clearest scrape, export the clips for a dentist, and tag Mouth Guard nights to compare.
Free. No subscription, no account, no in-app purchases.