Sleep Cycle pairs a smart alarm with snore detection. These eight apps cover one or both, and we list what each charges and declares.
Sleep Cycle alternatives for snore tracking include Snore Timeline, Pillow, ShutEye, BetterSleep, SnoreLab, Snollo, AutoSleep and, on Android, Sleep as Android. Snore Timeline records snoring and has a smart alarm that wakes you in light sleep, with no subscription, no in-app purchases and a Data Not Collected privacy label. AutoSleep also declares Data Not Collected and costs $8.99 once, but it needs an Apple Watch. The other five iPhone apps sell Premium through in-app purchases.
| App | Smart alarm | Snore detection | Price model | Privacy label summary | Rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Snore Timeline | Yes, Smart Wake in light sleep | Yes, full-night timeline | Free. No subscription, no purchases | Data Not Collected | 4.9 (214) |
| Sleep Cycle | Yes, free plan | Yes. Who's Snoring? needs Premium | Premium, $2.99 to $57.99 | Tracking: Identifiers. Linked: 7 categories | 4.7 (30K) |
| Pillow | Yes, listed as Premium | Yes, sound recordings listed as Premium | Subscription, $19.99 to $59.99 | Linked: Identifiers, Usage Data, Diagnostics | 4.4 (96K) |
| ShutEye | Smart alarm clock, timing not described | Yes | Subscription, $9.99 to $69.99 | Tracking: Identifiers. Linked: Identifiers | 4.8 (350K) |
| BetterSleep | Not in listing | Yes, sleep recorder | Subscription, $11.99 to $99.99 | Tracking: 4 categories. Linked: 7 categories | 4.7 (391K) |
| SnoreLab | Not in listing | Yes, core feature | Premium, $5.99 to $59.99 | Tracking: Usage Data. Linked: 4 categories | 4.7 (57K) |
| Snollo | Not in listing | Yes | Subscription, $5.99 to $39.99 | Linked: 6 categories | 2.9 (14) |
| AutoSleep | Yes, on Apple Watch | Through the separate AutoSnore app | $8.99 once, no in-app purchases | Data Not Collected | 4.7 (62K) |
| Sleep as Android | Yes, smart wake-up | Yes, anti-snoring sound recognition | Freemium with ads and in-app purchases | Google Play: shares Location, Health and fitness and 2 others | 4.6 (392K reviews) |
Sleep Cycle has earned its place. Its App Store listing carries an Editors' Choice badge and 4.7 stars from 30K ratings, and the developer reports more than 40 million downloads. The Smart Alarm is the feature most people know it for. The listing says it wakes you "during your lightest sleep phase," and Sleep Cycle's Smart Alarm page says you set a window from 10 to 30 minutes. That same page states: "The Smart Alarm is available on our Free plan."
The app tracks sleep through sound or the phone's accelerometer, with no wearable needed. It detects snoring, coughing and sleep talking, per its listing, and it ships a sleep sounds library of stories, soundscapes and guided meditations. Its Who's Snoring? feature uses machine learning to tell your snores from a partner's in a shared bedroom, which its site says sets it apart from other snore apps. If you want an alarm clock first and a sleep tracker second, Sleep Cycle covers that.
Sleep Cycle is free to download. Its App Store listing shows in-app purchases from $2.99 to $57.99, most of them named Premium, including a $39.99 item called "Premium: Unlock all features." The listing names supportive soundscapes, sleep stories, data export, Philips Hue sunrise and Apple Health sync as Premium tools.
As declared on the App Store on 27 September 2026, Sleep Cycle's label lists Identifiers under Data Used to Track You. Apple defines tracking as linking data from an app with other companies' data for targeted ads or ad measurement, or sharing it with a data broker. Data Linked to You lists seven categories: Health & Fitness, Purchases, Location, Contact Info, Identifiers, Usage Data and Diagnostics. The label is the developer's own declaration.
Sleep Cycle's Who's Snoring? page says: "To use this feature, you need to be a Premium subscription holder." The pages we read on its site did not state which plan covers basic snore tracking, so we make no claim either way. If snoring is your main reason for opening the app, open it and check before you pay. For a two-app comparison, see Snore Timeline vs Sleep Cycle.
Snore Timeline records the whole night through your iPhone mic or AirPods and plots every snore, gasp, cough and sleep-talking event on a zoomable timeline. Snores group into episodes, and each episode shows duration, count, peak and average dB and a plain-English summary. Tap any moment to hear it. The app flags breathing pauses from audio as something to show a doctor. How detection works explains the rules.
Smart Wake rings in light sleep inside a window you choose, covered below. Snore Nudge can play a sound or tap your wrist when you snore. Exports go to the Files app as CSV plus audio.
Price model: free. No subscription, no in-app purchases. Label: Data Not Collected, as declared on the App Store on 27 September 2026. Rating: 4.9 from 214 ratings, a small count next to Sleep Cycle's 30K.
Pick it if you want Sleep Cycle's smart alarm plus a closer look at each snoring episode, without a subscription, under a Data Not Collected label.
Pillow is the Apple Watch pick. Its App Store listing says it analyzes sleep cycles with an Apple Watch, iPhone or iPad and works as a smart alarm "to wake up at the lightest possible sleep stage." It shows heart rate analysis and a stage diagram, and it records snoring and sleep talking with on-device machine learning. The listing puts Smart Wake-up, sound recordings, heart rate analysis and CSV export on its Premium list. Pillow holds an Editors' Choice badge.
Price model: subscription, $19.99 monthly, $49.99 annual or $59.99 quarterly. Label: no Data Used to Track You. Data Linked to You lists Identifiers, Usage Data and Diagnostics. Rating: 4.4 from 96K.
Pick it if you wear an Apple Watch to bed and want heart-rate detail beside your snore clips. Snore Timeline vs Pillow goes deeper.
ShutEye leads with sound. Its App Store listing describes a library of sleep sounds and ambient noise, bedtime stories, custom sound mixes and a sleep tracker that tracks snoring. It also lists a "smart alarm clock for a gentle wake-up experience." The listing does not say whether that alarm times itself to light sleep, so we leave that open. ShutEye has 350K ratings, one of the largest counts here.
Price model: subscription. The listing states $59.99 a year, and in-app purchases range from $9.99 to $69.99. Label: Data Used to Track You lists Identifiers. Data Linked to You lists Identifiers. Rating: 4.8 from 350K.
Pick it if falling asleep to sounds matters as much as knowing when you snored. See Snore Timeline vs ShutEye.
BetterSleep began as Relax Melodies. Its App Store listing counts more than 300 sleep sounds and music tracks, more than 250 meditations and more than 100 sleep stories. A sleep recorder "identifies when you snore, move around, sleep talk and make other common sounds at night." The listing mentions bedtime reminders and timers. It does not mention a smart alarm. With 391K ratings, BetterSleep has the largest rating count on the App Store side of this list.
Price model: subscription, with in-app purchases from $11.99 to $99.99. Label: Data Used to Track You lists Purchases, Identifiers, Usage Data and Other Data. Data Linked to You lists seven categories. Rating: 4.7 from 391K.
Pick it if you want help falling asleep and a light check on snoring, and you don't need a light-sleep alarm.
SnoreLab does one job. Its App Store listing describes snore detection, a Snore Score for intensity, full-night recording, BreathFlow breathing analysis, and remedy and lifestyle tracking so you can see what changes your snoring. You can share recordings by email. The listing states SnoreLab is not a medical device. It does not list a smart alarm, so you would give that up. Its 57K ratings are the most among the dedicated snore apps here.
Price model: Premium through in-app purchases from $5.99 to $59.99, with subscriptions and a $7.99 one-time item. Label: Data Used to Track You lists Usage Data. Data Linked to You lists Health & Fitness, Contact Info, User Content and Identifiers. Rating: 4.7 from 57K.
Pick it if snoring is the whole reason you're switching and you want to test remedies night by night. Compare it in Snore Timeline vs SnoreLab.
Snollo pairs snore recording with Apple Watch data. Its App Store listing says it reads heart rate, respiratory rate and blood oxygen from the watch, shows sleep stages and a sleep score, and runs its acoustic analysis on the iPhone. The listing says recordings and health logs sit in your private iCloud container. It includes a library of rain, nature and white-noise sounds. The listing does not mention a smart alarm. Snollo is a new app with 14 ratings, so its 2.9 average rests on few voices.
Price model: subscription, $13.99 weekly, $5.99 monthly or $39.99 a year. Label: no Data Used to Track You. Data Linked to You lists Health & Fitness, Purchases, Location, Contact Info, User Content and Identifiers. Rating: 2.9 from 14.
Pick it if you want watch biometrics beside snore clips and you're comfortable with a young app.
AutoSleep, from Tantsissa, is Watch-first. Its App Store listing says it tracks sleep from your Apple Watch with "no buttons to press" and requires watchOS 4 or later. It lists sleep rings, heart rate, blood oxygen, respiration rate, wrist temperature and a "Watch in-built smart alarm to help you wake in lighter sleep." Snoring comes through a separate app: "Snoring Intensity - using the AutoSnore app." The listing cites Best of App Store selections from 2018 to 2023.
Price model: $8.99 up front. The listing says "No extra In App Purchases. No subscriptions." Label: Data Not Collected, as declared on the App Store on 27 September 2026. Rating: 4.7 from 62K.
Pick it if you wear a watch every night and want a one-time price. Add AutoSnore if you need snore data.
If you use Sleep Cycle on an Android phone, Sleep as Android from Petr Nálevka (Urbandroid) covers both the alarm and the snoring. Its Google Play listing describes a "smart alarm clock with sleep cycle tracking" that "wakes you gently at the optimal time." It lists AI sound recognition for anti-snoring, sleep talk and sickness detection, Sonar contactless tracking, and support for Wear OS, Garmin, Fitbit and other wearables. It shows an Editors' Choice badge and 10M+ downloads.
Price model: "Enjoy 7 days premium, then keep freemium or upgrade." The listing notes ads and in-app purchases. Data safety: Google Play shows it may share Location, Health and fitness and 2 other types, and may collect Location, Health and fitness and 3 others. Rating: 4.6 from 392K reviews.
Pick it if you use Android. iPhone users can skip it. It is a Google Play app. More options in the best snoring apps for Android.
If Sleep Cycle's alarm is the feature you'd miss, five apps on this list describe an alarm that picks a lighter moment to wake you: Snore Timeline, Pillow, AutoSleep, Sleep as Android and Sleep Cycle itself. Pillow lists Smart Wake-up under Premium. AutoSleep runs its alarm on the Apple Watch. ShutEye lists a smart alarm clock but does not describe how it picks the time. BetterSleep, SnoreLab and Snollo do not mention a smart alarm in their listings.
You set a wake-up time and alarm sound in Settings under Wake Up, then choose a Smart Wake window of 15, 30 or 45 minutes. Inside that window the app watches its live sleep staging plus your own movement and sounds. Stirring or murmuring can set the alarm off right away, since you're already surfacing. A light-sleep reading on its own fires only in the later part of the window. If no good moment comes, the alarm rings at your set time. The sound fades in over the first few seconds, and one action stops the alarm and the night's recording.
Smart Wake needs Sleep Insights turned on. With an Apple Watch you can swap the sound for wrist taps and wake without disturbing a partner. The app also schedules a backup system alarm in case the recording stops overnight. The Smart Alarm support page covers each setting, and Apple Watch & Health covers the wrist side.
Snore Timeline analyzes audio. It is not a medical device and does not diagnose sleep apnea or any other condition. Bring recordings to a doctor if you suspect breathing pauses.
Snore Timeline is free with no subscription and no in-app purchases, and it includes a smart alarm and snore detection. On Android, Sleep as Android gives you 7 days of premium, then a freemium tier with ads.
Pillow, ShutEye, BetterSleep, SnoreLab and Snollo are free to download and sell Premium through in-app purchases.
Snore Timeline has no subscription and no purchases of any kind. AutoSleep costs $8.99 up front, and its listing says it has no in-app purchases and no subscriptions, but it requires an Apple Watch. The other apps on this list sell subscriptions.
Sleep Cycle's App Store listing says it detects snoring, coughing and sleep talking. Its website says Who's Snoring?, the feature that separates your snores from a partner's, requires a Premium subscription, and that the Smart Alarm is on the free plan.
The Sleep Cycle pages we read on 27 September 2026 did not state which plan covers basic snore tracking. Check inside the app before you pay.
Two apps on this list declare Data Not Collected on the App Store: Snore Timeline and AutoSleep, as declared on 27 September 2026. Snore Timeline is also free with no purchases, while AutoSleep costs $8.99 and needs an Apple Watch.
Developers fill in these labels themselves, and the App Store notes that Apple has not verified them. Our privacy label comparison shows 14 snore and sleep apps side by side.
All but one do. AutoSleep requires an Apple Watch. Snore Timeline, Sleep Cycle, SnoreLab, ShutEye and BetterSleep record with your phone's microphone. Pillow's listing says it works with an Apple Watch, iPhone or iPad. Snollo's listing is built around Apple Watch data.
Snore Timeline estimates sleep stages from audio alone and adds heart rate, blood oxygen and other readings when you wear a watch.
Free. No subscription, no account, no in-app purchases.